March 11, 2013

Egghead Walk & the St. Louis Symphony

Commissioned by the Campus Art in Public Places Work Group with private funds © UC Regents & Nelson Gallery; all rights reserved.

This week the Mondavi Center will host a three-day residency with the St. Louis Symphony sponsored in part by a grant from The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.

One highlight is the Egghead Music Walk on Friday, March 15 at 2 p.m. at UC Davis. This free outdoor concert features six world-premiere pieces composed by UC Davis music faculty and performed by members of the St. Louis Symphony on site at the six Egghead sculptures at UC Davis.

The sculptures were created by artist Robert Arneson, who was a UC Davis faculty member for four decades.

The Egghead Music Walk will begin at the “See No Evil/Hear No Evil” Egghead sculpture on the south side of Mrak Hall. After performing the first piece, the musicians and audience will proceed in turn to each of the five remaining Egghead sculptures on campus. The concert will conclude with a reception at the final Egghead location.

Download a Map of the Egghead Music Walk.

More information about the St. Louis Symphony Residency.

No comments:

Post a Comment